National Committee

Medsin's National Committee comprises students from across the UK who help facilitate the functioning of the network. They are elected annually by the Medsin network at the Spring General Assembly and meet at least four times a year, as well as at Medsin's Conferences and General Assemblies. Minutes from previous National Committee meetings can be found here, and check out the events calendar for upcoming NC meetings which can be attended by any branch members.

If you would like to get in touch with anyone see below for more information about each individual member and their contact details. If you’re unsure of who to contact, email our Secretary on info@medsin.org and he will forward your query to the appropriate person.

National Director: Issy Marks (Barts)

With an extensive background in Global Health and Medsin infrastructure and work, not only is our National Director Elect knowledgeable, she is also talented. At the moment, Issy is a Research Associate in Global Surgery at Harvard and also our National Officer of Research Exchange this year. We're privileged to have Issy leading the team for this year!

Email: director@medsin.org

Director of Branch Affairs: Sam Tweed (Aberdeen)

From empowering students from far up the country, to developing and nurturing branches across Scotland and Northern Ireland as one of last year's Regional Coordinator, Sam has much expertise and a strong vision to bring to the group.

Email: branches@medsin.org


Director of International Affairs: Liban Ahmed (UEA/Leeds)

Liban has been working as Communications Officer for Medsin International, as well as recently leading the Organising Committee for the successful Spring General Assembly last year. Full of charisma and innovation, he has many ideas planned for the international future of Medsin!

Email: international@medsin.org


Global Health Education Director: Florence Mutlow (Leeds)

Florence shared her passion and inspiring Medsin journey at the Spring General Assembly. She has a set of wonderful plans and ideas to implement. The future of Global Health Education looks fantastically bright!

Email: ghe@medsin.org

Director of Policy and Advocacy: Kat Pugh (Mental Health National Working Group)

Did you know that Kat has appeared on TV? A passionate campaigner and advocate, she has the expertise and has also experienced first hand the impact campaigning has.

Email:  pad@medsin.org

Affiliates Coordinator: Jared Charlton-Webb (Cardiff)

Jared has been to many Medsin conferences and events in the past and has been keen to get involved on a bigger level for some time. After hearing about the work and opportunities out there with our affiliates, Jared felt empowered to get involved. He hopes to bring a fresh new perspective to our relationships with our affiliates and we look forward to see what he has to offer!

Email:  affiliates@medsin.org

Communications Director: You?

Email: comms@medsin.org

Training Directors: Ben Eder (Bristol) & Joanna Marsden (Newcastle)

North meets South in this brand new introduction of the role of Training Director! Each of them have something different to bring alongside their passion and heart in Training. We're ecstatic to be having them both in the team - double the fun of training and action next year!

Email: training@medsin.org

Secretary: Alice Blewitt (Sheffield)

 I'm always available for you to ask any questions about the website, email accounts or Medsin in general through my email or info@medsin.org. If I don't know the answer, I can refer you to someone who probably does! I'm also heading up the Agenda Committee this year which helps to keep Medsin's democratic processes in order and is reachable at agendacommittee@medsin.org. Exciting, I know! 

Email:  secretary@medsin.org

Finance Director: Lizzy Morgan (Leeds)

Lizzy has had a variety of experience in fundraising and volunteering. She has also brought along a robust plan and strategy for her work for this upcoming year. We're grateful to have Lizzy joning the team.

Email: treasurer@medsin.org

National Exchange Officer (Outgoing): Gemma Whyatt (Leeds)

Gemma sees International Exchanges as a hobby and passion and has been involved in exchanges since she was 15!

Email:  neo.outgoing.uk@gmail.com

National Exchange Officer (Incoming): Lucy Singh (Aberdeen)

Hailing all the way from Aberdeen, Lucy has a lot of exciting ideas and energy to share with us all! This year, she has set up the Exchange Programme at her local Medsin branch and has just completed her Medsin "Training New Trainers" course this April!

Email:  neo.incoming.uk@gmail.com

Research Exchanges: Mehak Chadha (Newcastle)

Email: research@medsin.org

Website Manager: Yuxuan Zhang (St Andrews) 

Email:  webmaster@medsin.org

Regional Coordinators

Email: regional@medsin.org

South-East: Anita Bhahirathan (BSMS)

Anita served on the Agenda Committee last year, and has much experience in organising and running large-scale events and conferences in the past. She is keen to continue the passion and energy in our South-east region and we are excited to be having her joining us!

Email: southeastcoordinator@medsin.org


South-West: Adrienne Lee (Bristol)

Adrienne was one of the Co-Presidents at her local branch last year, and helped to organise the hugely successful Global Health Conference 2016 in Bristol. She has also travelled extensively and has gained a sound appreciation of the inequalities on a global scale. Adrienne has much to offer and she hopes to empower students in the South-west region.

Email:  southwestcoordinator@medsin.org


Midlands: Matt Quinn (Leicester)

We are privileged to have last year's Secretary joining us again for this year as a Regional Coordinator! From governance to communications, Matt will bring some great energy to the Midlands for sure!

Email: midlandscoordinator@medsin.org


Northern: Huw Lewis (Sheffield)

Huw has a passion for making a change, and to push for change. This year, amongst the many other commitments, he as been part of a Medsin Working Group that has been working at a great momentum.

Email:  northerncoordinator@medsin.org


Scotland & Northern Ireland: Ellen Anderson (Glasgow)

She is one of the organising committee members at Glasgow who has put together a lovely proposal for National Conference 2016. A lot of energy and excitement to bring, we're excited to be having Ellen as our SNI RC!

Email:  SNIcoordinator@medsin.org

Past National Committees

Please fill out the following form to contact us or email info@medsin.org.

Medsin's Sponsors:

If you are interested in sponsoring Medsin, please contact info@medsin.org.